Sweet New Year food/Flickr photo by RonAlmog

Ask A Jew: What are the High Holy Days?

What questions do you have about Judaism? Submit them online, or fill out the form below.

By Hyphen Parent

What exactly are the High Holy Days?

SPO_Ask-a-Jew-ad_042114The High Holy Days are Rosh Hashanah, Yom Kippur and the days in-between.

Rosh Hashanah is the Jewish new year. Outside of Israel*, it’s celebrated by two days of prayer and services as well as meals with sweet and circular food (like apples and honey for a sweet new year and round challah to indicate the continuing cycle of the year).

Rosh Hashanah begins a time of introspection called The Ten Days of Repentance or The Ten Days of Awe. During that time, we recite certain prayers, read specific Torah portions, focus on ourselves and our misdeeds, ask others for forgiveness, and make specific changes in our behavior and attitudes to be better people. We focus on Teshuva (Repentance), Tefilla (Prayer), and Tzedakah (Commonly translated as ‘Charity,” but “Justice” is a more accurate translation).

The Ten Days of Repentance ends on Yom Kippur—often considered the holiest day of the year. It’s a somber 25 hour fast day. We spend much of the day in services making confessions and asking for forgiveness.

*Jews in Israel and Reform Jews all around the world celebrate only one day.

Check Also

journalism ethics covering tragedy

Journalists Are Responsible to Cover Tragedy, Ethically, and Serve the Public

How can a news organization possibly cover a horrific community tragedy, respecting those most affected — victims, their families and friends — while simultaneously serving the larger community? Short answer: It is not always possible.


  1. When are they this year?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *